• About
  • Galleries
  • Participation
  • Winners & Nominees
  • Connect

    About the Award

    More in This Section

    The Jimmy®

    The Jimmy Award is named in honor of James M. Nederlander, legendary Broadway theatre owner and producer.

    The Jimmy Award for Best Performance by an Actress and Best Performance by an Actor is awarded annually to two grand prize winners selected from a group of student performers representing the participating professional theatres. Winners are selected by a panel of industry experts.





    Honorary Patron - James M. Nederlander

    James M. Nederlander or “Jimmy” as the theatrical community knew him, was the Chairman of the Nederlander Producing Company of America Inc., which recently marked its 100th anniversary, and was a producer of distinguished entertainment for more than 70 years. He produced innumerable Broadway plays and musicals, winning 11 Tony® Awards, and presented operas, ballets, concerts, and artists ranging from Nureyev to Sinatra to Billy Joel to U2. Nine of his theatres are on Broadway and the balance in Detroit, Los Angeles, San Diego, Tucson, Durham, Chicago, and London.

    Nederlander Broadway houses have hosted Wicked, Hamilton, The Lion King, An American in Paris, Honeymoon in Vegas, and Finding Neverland.

    Mr. Nederlander produced or co-produced more than 100 shows including Applause, Copenhagen, The Will Rogers Follies, Les Liaisons Dangereuses, Me and My Girl, La Cage aux Folles, Nine, Noises Off, Lena Horne: The Lady and Her Music, Benefactors, Woman of the Year, and The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby.

    The Broadway League presented Jimmy with the Schoenfeld Vision for Arts Education Award in 2010 for establishing the National High School Musical Theatre Awards®.