• About
  • Videos
  • Participation
  • Winners & Nominees
  • Support/Donate

    2024 Jimmy Awards

    More in This Section

    The 2024 Jimmy Awards took place on Monday June 24 at Broadway's Minskoff Theatre. The coveted Jimmy Awards for Best Performance by an Actress and Best Performance by an Actor were presented to Gretchen Shope, Sutton Foster Awards (East Lansing, MI) and Damson Chola Jr. , Broadway Dallas High School Musical Theatre Awards (Dallas, TX). Both winners were each presented with a check for the amount of $25,000 to further their education, presented by the Nederlander Organization. The ceremony was hosted by Josh Groban.

    Damson Chola Jr.

    Dallas, TX
    The 2024 Jimmy Award for Best Performance by an Actor was presented to Damson Chola Jr. representing Broadway Dallas High School Musical Theatre Awards.

    Gretchen Shope

    East Lansing, MI
    The 2024 Jimmy Award for Best Performance by an Actress was presented to Gretchen Shope representing the Sutton Foster Awards.

    This year, a total of 17 awards and scholarships were presented to participants.

    Six finalists each received a $5,000 scholarship toward their future education, presented by MJ:

    • Fabiola Caraballo Quijada,Broadway Dallas High School Musical Theatre Awards (Dallas, TX)
    • Peter Dessert,Blue Star Awards (Kansas City, MO)
    • Catherine Dosier,Spirit of the MACY Awards (La Mirada, CA)
    • Luke Martin,Nevada High School Musical Theater Awards (Las Vegas, NV)
    • Samia Posadas,The Monte Awards (Tucson, AZ)
    • James Thibault, The Stephen Sondheim Awards (New Haven, CT)

    SCAD Achievement Scholarship, presented by Savannah College of Art and Design, a minimum $10,000 scholarship per year should they be admitted and choose to attend that college:

    • Fabiola Caraballo Quijada, Broadway Dallas High School Musical Theatre Awards (Dallas, TX)

    Additional awards winners each received a $2,500 scholarship:

      Rising Star, presented by The John Gore Organization, for impressive advancement during the Jimmy Awards program

      • Samara Follette,Nebraska High School Theater Academy (Omaha, NE)

      Best Dancer, presented by The Shubert Organization, for excellence in dance and movement

      • Alana Hogan, Broadway Star of the Future (Tampa, FL)

      Spirit of the Jimmys, presented by Thomas Schumacher, for embodying the spirit of this musical theatre celebration:

      • Hayden Poe, Georgia High School Musical Theatre Awards - Shuler Hensley Awards (Atlanta, GA)

      Outstanding Performance in an Ensemble, co-presented by M·A·C and No Guarantees,for outstanding collaboration during the Jimmy Awards program:

      • Savannah Carrasco,Utah High School Musical Theatre Awards (Logan, UT)
      • Connor Egloff, Miami Valley High School Theatre Awards (Dayton, OH)
      • Spencer Kearns, The Broadway San Diego Awards (San Diego, CA)
      • Cameron Krauss, Philadelphia Independence Awards (Philadelphia, PA)
      • Sophie Rose, Discovery Awards (Tulsa, OK)

      See the full list of 2024 Jimmy Awards nominees.

      Download the Playbill.

      Inspiring Teacher Award

      The Jimmy Awards congratulates the recipients of the 2024 Inspiring Teacher Award, which is given to teachers who have been nominated by their students and chosen by a selection committee of Broadway League members as recognition of their roles in providing valuable guidance and encouragement for their students who excelled during last year’s Jimmy Awards. Presented in memory of Luigi Caiola, this year’s recipients are Jacqueline McLean, Le Roy Jr. Sr. High School (Rochester, NY) and Paul Fillingim, Ronald Reagan High School (San Antonio, TX). 

      Student Reporters

      The 2024 Jimmy Awards Student Reporter Initiative with support from Broadway News welcomed two student reporters to NYC. Nicole Scimeca from Broadway In Chicago Illinois High School Musical Theatre Awards (Chicago, IL) and Richard “Ricky” Ragazzo from the Tommy Tune Awards (Houston, TX) are aspiring journalists who were selected following a nationwide submissions process and covered The Jimmy Awards on social media from The Minskoff Theatre on June 24th, providing fans an inside look at the final preparations for the evening performance. Nicole and Ricky also conducted exclusive interviews with the 2024 Best Actor and Best Actress winners following the awards ceremony. As part of the experience, they were granted a special visit to the WABC studios to observe the behind-the-scenes production of an upcoming news segment.